Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor Review

Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor

  • Heavy-duty compact juice fountain with centered knife blade assembly
  • 700-watt motor operates at 14,000 RPM for maximum extraction
  • Extra-large 3-inch centered feed tube; stainless-steel micro-mesh filter
  • Dishwasher-safe parts; custom cleaning brush included
  • Measures 9-1/2 by 8-3/4 by 16 inches; 1-year limited warranty
Model BJE820XL: Juice Fountain Duo 800JEXL: Juice Fountain Elite BJE510XL: Juice Fountain Multi-Speed BJS600XL: Juice Fountain Crush JE98XL: Juice Fountain Plus BJE200XL: Juice Fountain Compact Key Feature Die-cast juicer with soft fruit attachment and variable speed capability 'Rolls Royce' of Juicers: die-cast metal matched wtih power Variable speeds maximize yield across variety of fruits Makes

List Price: $ 99.99 Price: $ 99.95

More Juicer Products

3 Comments on “Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor Review
  1. 5,860 of 5,936 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    WOW – Way better than expected – XLNT daily juicer, August 24, 2007
    By 
    Ed Osworth “The Joy Professor” (Lowell, Oregon Forest) –
    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor (Kitchen)
    I juice at least once a day as I primarily eat raw foods.

    My Jack LaLane juicer finally wore out after 2.5 years of daily use. I was tempted to buy another – but I liked the way everything including the pulp catcher is all in one unit. So glad I got the Breville.

    This thing is POWERFUL, especially compared to “Jack LaLanne”. It is so powerful I usually don’t even use the pusher except to cover the top so your ceiling doesn’t get covered with stuff. Other reviewers have mentioned that tendency. What wasn’t mentioned is that the reason it does that is because the motor is so beefy that stuff will shoot straight up.

    When juicing soft stuff I immediately cover the top with my hand.

    The design of this thing is absolutely first rate. Even down to the plug, which has a moulded loop so that it is easy to unplug and plug in! No tool is required to remove the basket, as in most other juicers. Breville uses a combo of ingenious design and magnets to hold it in place!

    Ease of use and fit and finish is perfect.

    Clean up is really a 2 minute operation and I don’t even own a dishwasher. It will stain eventually, as every juicer I have ever owned does. Carrot juice would make a great dye :-)

    The pulp on this juicer is a bit wetter than the Jack LaLanne. The “Jack” had a much larger basket and a much slower rotation. I believe that may account for it. But it isn’t much wetter – just very slightly.

    This juicer makes much smaller pieces of pulp though – and my experience so far has been that it gets just as much juice from a pound of carrots.

    Bottom line – I can’t imagine anyone not loving this unit.

    UPDATE 3/26/2011 This thing is still going strong 3.5 years later. Folks I buy carrots by the 25 pound bag so I am HARD on juicers. And not one part has needed replacement!

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. 2,140 of 2,207 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Happy Juicing – More than 2 years later!!!, March 18, 2012
    By 
    R. W. Pochciol “rwp464″ (PA United States) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor (Kitchen)

    Customer Video Review Length:: 5:57 Mins

    Update Aug 2014 – Thanks for all the questions and comments on my review over the years! Yes, I am still using the original juicer! No, this is not a paid endorsement. I have not been contacted by Breville or offered any compensation. When you find a product that is built well, works well and helps you get well…it’s worth writing about it! Keep reading…

    Update Oct 2013 – I’m so glad I bought this juicer! Still using all the original parts, nothing is broken. I’ve kept the mesh filter basket clean and it works great, but it is puckering at the top edge of the basket, between the spots where it’s welded to the basket frame. It doesn’t seem to affect the performance of the juicer, but it requires more diligent cleaning.

    I have a new tip today about juicing spinach leaves. Stack spinach leaves about 2-3″ tall and place on a large kale leaf. Wrap the kale leaf around the spinach and stuff into the feed chute. Slowly push the kale/spinach “package” down the chute. Small spinach leaves won’t fly out the food chute or end up whole in the pulp collection bin. This works great with collard greens too!

    Update Apr 2013 – Still juicing! I make about a quart of green juice a day. The shredding disc and steel mesh were showing signs of staining and minor clogging. The residue wouldn’t come off with hand-washing, so I decided to try some serious cleansing using a spray-on oven cleaner. Bingo! All the residue came off easily, opening all the clogged mesh holes and rejuvenating the shredding disc. None of the original parts have broken or cracked. I remain very satisfied with this juicer.

    Update Dec 2012 – The Breville Compact Juice Fountain works like new after 11 months of daily use! There have been no issues with the motor. The plastic parts have held up well but are veggie-stained. The shredding disc isn’t as sharp as it was on Day 1, but it still works great. When the time comes, Breville sells replacement parts online.

    Update June 2012 – Still using the Breville twice daily and it continues to work well. No broken parts.

    Original Review: Prior to purchasing the Breville Compact Juice Fountain, I researched other models and selected the Breville for its features and excellent customer reviews. I’ve been using the juicer daily since Jan 18, 2012 and continue to be satisfied with the unit. As with any centrifugal juicer, the pulp may not be “bone dry” due to the nature of the juicing process. But I’m not a purist, and any increase in my fruit & veggie intake is an improvement!

    PROS of this unit
    * The motor is powerful. The toughest veggie I’ve juiced is a quarter head of purple cabbage, no problem. Whole kale leaves, celery, carrots, broccoli, beets…juiced regularly without any trouble. I haven’t tried juicing a sweet potato yet.
    *Quick and easy to clean because there are only 4 parts: the food pusher, feed chute / pulp collection lid, pulp collection container and steel micro mesh filter. See in the video how effortless the Compact Juice Fountain is to assemble. I prefer this model to my friend’s juicer that has the side-mounted pulp basket.
    * Juice spout fits nicely into the opening of the pitcher lid. Juice doesn’t splash all over the counter.
    * Compact size makes it easy to leave on the counter to encourage frequent, if not daily, use. The pulp collection container measures 9 inches in diameter.
    * Froth separator lid works well to separate the froth from the juice when pouring into a glass. Save the froth! It will liquify into more juice.
    * There’s a handy cord wrap in the base of the unit.
    * Juicer cover, pulp container, filter basket and pitcher are listed as dishwasher safe. I prefer to hand-wash! Note that the inside of the juice collector (under the mesh filter basket) needs to be scrubbed well to prevent build-up.

    CONS of this unit
    * One speed means you cannot slow the shredder basket down for tough or leafy greens. I compensate by packing the chute with green and feeding it s-l-o-w-l-y.
    * Small slices of fruit or veggies end up unshredded in the pulp container because there is a small gap between the bottom of the food chute and the shredding blades of the filter basket. The slices are thin enough (1/16 to 1/8″) to fit through the gap. See the video for actual pulp results.
    * The juice dispensing hole is hard to clean and gets a build-up. A small bottle brush gets some of it out.

    TIPS for juicing and cleaning
    * Rinse or clean the juicer immediately after juicing. Dried pulp is hard to clean off the mesh filter basket.
    * Juice slowly for better results.
    * Juice leafy greens first, then juicier fruits will wash the healthy green into the pitcher.
    * Stack spinach into compact piles, and pack into the chute. This way whole baby leaves won’t end up in the pulp container. Fill the chute and allow the juicer to…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. 1,823 of 1,946 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Best of three, October 22, 2007
    By 
    Travis Bikel “Vulcanelli” (Bellingham, WA) –

    This review is from: Breville BJE200XL Compact Juice Fountain 700-Watt Juice Extractor (Kitchen)
    This is my third juicing machine. My first was a Champion which served without problems for years. On the plus side it was powerful and durable. On the down side it was rather noisy, vibrated a lot and left a lot of juice in the pulp and was hard to clean. My second juicer was the omega screw machine which I still have. I bought it because it also did wheat grass. On the plus side it is quiet and juices anything, makes nut butter and extracts a lot of juice leaving very dry pulp. On the down side it is slow and worst of all the feed tube is really small. You have to do a lot of cutting to get things small enough to get into the feed tube. I pretty much only use it for wheatgrass now. The Breville is the best juicer I have had. It is an example of good product design in that it is simple, practical and attractive. It is powerful, has a feed tube large enough to take large whole carrots, beets and small apples. It is quiet, comes apart easy and cleans up quickly. The capture pitcher which nests into the machine has a nice cover so you can store the juice for later. If making juice is a hassle you’re going to put off doing it. This juicer makes juicing easy and not a hassle.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>